A new font from old shapes

February 2, 2009 at 6:52 am 38 comments

As promised, allow me to introduce PunchDings, a dingbat font I created on YourFonts.com by gluing shapes from my (much bigger than I realized) collection of craft punches onto the font template.

yurfntss1

Pretty cool, if I do say so myself. Download the TrueType font here. If you’d like to share this font, please help me publicize my blog by sharing a link to this page instead of just the font file. The sharing button in the right hand column makes that easy. Thanks!

Entry filed under: Computer Crafts, Cricut, Digital Scrapbooking, Freebies. Tags: , , , .

Create your own font online for free Hand sketch fill with Cricut markers

38 Comments Add your own

  • 1. s.Amazed  |  February 2, 2009 at 11:03 am

    WOW!!! This is absolutely amazing!!! Thank you for sharing your great font. How Inspiring. I’m off to play. Thank you

    Reply
  • 2. Christine  |  February 2, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    thank you for the font very useful

    Reply
  • 3. CuttersMarket  |  February 2, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    What a great way to keep your favorite shapes in one place. Easy to find to boot. Might be interesting to use for journaling blocks. When you get a moment, drop me a line.

    Reply
  • 4. wendy  |  February 3, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    Thanks you for this, you are so clever. It’ll save me on punches plus I find that I don’t use the ones I have as they don’t cut card stock. Thanks

    Reply
  • 5. Kay  |  February 3, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    Those are so cool – thanks so much for sharing!

    Reply
  • 6. Samantha Bobbitt  |  February 4, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    Great- thanks for showing all your great finds! I just shared with a friend!

    Reply
  • 7. eileen paul  |  February 4, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Thanks for sharing this great file.

    Reply
  • 8. Wendy K  |  February 26, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    What a great idea! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 9. Cheri  |  February 26, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    Good Idea! I need to scan my do this with my punches too.

    Reply
  • 10. thefrugalcrafter  |  February 26, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    You are so clever! love that, thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  • 11. Susie  |  February 27, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    These are amazing thank you.

    Reply
  • 12. Els  |  March 1, 2009 at 6:07 am

    Thank you for sharing

    Reply
  • 13. Sara  |  March 1, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Thanks very much! I”m new to all this but it amazes me the creativity and sharing! I”d love to see what people make! ;o)

    Reply
  • 14. Tami  |  March 1, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    WOW – This is such a great idea! I love it!!!

    If anyone makes any other fonts from other punches, I’d love to see them too!

    CraftyTami@yahoo.com

    Reply
  • 15. Debi Kinnebrew  |  March 16, 2009 at 10:54 am

    I’m just LOVING this! Thank you for the work that you put into it (I wouldn’t have a clue how to do that!)

    Reply
  • 16. celeste lombas  |  April 5, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    I just love your punch ding font. I use them all time. Will yoube making more.

    Reply
  • 17. Brenda  |  April 7, 2009 at 12:13 am

    Hi,
    I have a question about your video list. I know you said that furl had been bought out and you were find a new home for the videos. A frustrated new Cricut owner had asked for videos to learn how to use the cricut. I gave her Robyn’s (ThePinkStamper) blog address, and the one I had for Cricutpedia. Apparently the old address is no longer usable. Do you have a new site yet?

    Brenda

    Reply
  • 18. Zellko  |  April 9, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    What timing! I just put my craft room together today (we are new empty-nesters) and looked at that box of punches, thinking now that I have SCAL I shouldn’t have to drag those to crops and
    VIOLA! Here you’ve alread done the work for me! Thanks bunches!

    Reply
  • 19. Echo  |  May 24, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    What a great idea for a font! Just love it!

    Reply
  • 20. pat  |  June 1, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    TFS! Very cool.

    Reply
  • 21. Hailey  |  June 12, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    The link when I click on download “here” is not working. Can someone please help me obtain this font. Thanks. Hailey

    Reply
  • 22. Nic  |  July 13, 2009 at 5:28 am

    Thank you very much for sharing.

    Reply
  • 23. Carolyn  |  July 24, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Hi, I love your site thank you for so much informative information. I was just wondering if I have permission to feature your site on my blog? I am also trying to help people and want to refer them to good sites to learn information.
    Carolyn, Australia.

    Reply
    • 24. Kay  |  July 25, 2009 at 3:48 pm

      Sure, Carolyn! I have been to your blog before and would be honored to be included.

      Reply
  • 25. Lisa  |  September 29, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    Thanks for all the careful work you put into your fonts.

    Reply
  • 26. Denise  |  September 29, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing your hard work, this is great!

    Reply
  • 27. Patsy  |  October 1, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    Love the font. This is such a clever way to make a new font.
    I am impressed with all the talent I found in your blog. I am also very envious.
    P

    Reply
  • 28. New Font for Cricut plus Scal « M A G N A N I M I T Y  |  October 5, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    [...] October 5, 2009 I read this on the Cricut blog and it’s a great font.  Thought I’d share.  Overall, a great way to enhance the punches for personal use.  I have a few I’d like to use more, but don’t because of the lack of variety of size. The fancy new punches are all rights-restricted but the early old-school punches carried no copyright restrictions. I made a font of some of those to make them easier to use in SCAL or for printing out at other sizes. You can download it for free here http://cleversomeday.wordpress.com/2009/02/02/a-new-font-from-old-shapes/ [...]

    Reply
  • 29. Maggie  |  October 5, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    Thank you! Will love adding these to my shapes folder!

    Reply
  • 30. Carole N.  |  October 24, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    Kay, what a great idea. I love your KutUps dingbat font, but had never seen this one. The name of your blog is so perfect….Clever Someday, but I think you are Clever Everyday.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Hugs!

    Reply
  • 31. Saskia  |  October 26, 2009 at 3:16 am

    Thank you so much for sharing!

    Reply
  • 32. judi  |  October 26, 2009 at 9:31 am

    so clever. thank you for sharing this. this info is going to be very handy to have.

    Reply
  • 33. Linda  |  November 26, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Thank you very much for sharing your Font. Some great shapes. Linda

    Reply
  • 34. Karen  |  January 3, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Thanks for the font. I came here in a very roundabout way. The new entry on the Make the Cut forum by iowascrapmouse talking about posting blog address. I went to her blog and scrolled down and saw her border made with your font. Did a google search and here I am. Thanks again so much!

    Reply
  • 35. RAMONA PIPER  |  January 12, 2010 at 11:31 am

    Thanks for sharing your punch font
    It is great

    Reply
  • 36. Cricut Chatter #3 - Splitcoaststampers.com  |  December 1, 2010 at 6:33 am

    [...] [...]

    Reply
  • 37. jane  |  January 9, 2013 at 2:10 pm

    thanks you so much! You are clever today and VERY generous

    Reply
  • 38. Tammy  |  January 24, 2013 at 6:19 am

    Thank u so much for sharing and this is awesome. How do u find the time to do all u do. Share your secret. Plz keep up the awesome work..It teaches me so much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,857 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Cricut and Sure Cuts A Lot Top 40
Silhouette Top 40
Sure Cuts A Lot Top 40
Make The Cut Top 40

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,857 other followers

