Border Bits – a new free dingbat font

September 5, 2013 at 11:12 pm 255 comments

borderbitspromosm

I am proud to introduce another dingbat font designed for diecutters, at least that’s how it started. Silhouette Studio, Microsoft Word and even Photoshop are among the programs that can wrap text on a path but can’t wrap objects … or so it seems. Simply put your objects in a font – problem solved. So here’s my collection of little shapes that repeat or combine to make fun borders and, for the most part, lend themselves to wrapping along a path. Hope you’ll have as much fun with it as I have.

Download Border Bits here and make my day by leaving a comment. This font is free for personal or commercial use but not for resale or sharing on other sites, please. Pinning or otherwise pointing people to this blog page is a great way to say thanks. I’d also love to see creative ways you use this font.

How to make a doily with Border Bits with thanks to Gisela!

For a video on how to use this font and text to path in Silhouette Studio see this post.

Entry filed under: Computer Crafts, Digital Scrapbooking, Freebies, Silhouette. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Quick video on using transparent tiles in Silh Studio Adding thumbnails to your .studio files on a Mac

255 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alicia B  |  September 5, 2013 at 11:24 pm

    Thanks SO much Kay! It is awesome as always! *Hugs*

    Reply
  • 2. Jo Bailey  |  September 5, 2013 at 11:26 pm

    Thanks for sharing your awesome files!

    Reply
  • 3. Jo ann Bailey  |  September 5, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    Thank you for sharing.  I love your designs.

    Have you thought about making an svg of a dress form and or dresses? I could sure use one.

    Jo Bailey                    ¸…¸      _____ ,·´o`·, /__/ _/\_\ “`)¨(´´ |__  |   | | ¸,.-·-°´ ¸,.-·~·~·-.,-. :º° …but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. Joshua 24:15

    ________________________________

    Reply
  • 4. PapaSue  |  September 5, 2013 at 11:31 pm

    Thanks Kay! I still use your first two fonts and looking forward to playing with this one.

    Reply
  • 5. Laura  |  September 5, 2013 at 11:36 pm

    thank you very much!

    Reply
  • 6. Jocelan  |  September 5, 2013 at 11:42 pm

    Thanks for sharing .
    Blessing’s Jocelan

    Reply
  • 7. Esther  |  September 5, 2013 at 11:45 pm

    Thanks for the free file! Love it!

    Reply
  • 8. pam  |  September 5, 2013 at 11:53 pm

    thanks so much….esp was excited about the chevron elements! But they all look like ones I’d use lots. What a thoughtful freebie!!

    Reply
  • 9. Jenny  |  September 5, 2013 at 11:55 pm

    I soooo enjoy following your blog and learning from you! Thank you so very, very much for sharing your wonderful work! Hugs!

    Reply
  • 10. Alene Robison  |  September 6, 2013 at 12:06 am

    Thanks so much for this GREAT font. I will be using it all the time!
    AWESOME!!

    Reply
  • 11. Julie  |  September 6, 2013 at 12:14 am

    You are just too CLEVER:) Thank you so much for sharing.
    Your ideas are always Grrrrrr8
    Can’t wait to try this out.

    Reply
  • 12. Bernice  |  September 6, 2013 at 12:26 am

    Thanks so much for this great font for cutters and all the other assistance you give to help all of us who are using die cut machines.

    Reply
  • 13. Cindy  |  September 6, 2013 at 1:00 am

    Thanx a bunch!

    Reply
  • 14. Nancy Bennett  |  September 6, 2013 at 1:08 am

    This is absolutely the best idea ever! Thank you!

    Reply
  • 15. Nettte  |  September 6, 2013 at 1:43 am

    What a brilliant idea!!!!! Thank you for sharing it with us, I am going to have lots of fun playing with this font.

    Hugs, Nettte

    Reply
  • 16. jamie schnirch  |  September 6, 2013 at 1:50 am

    Nice designs. Thanks so much for sharing. :-)

    Reply
  • 17. Dawn H.  |  September 6, 2013 at 2:20 am

    Thanks so much for sharing your work with us!!

    Reply
  • 18. ck  |  September 6, 2013 at 2:41 am

    Thanks! You are generous!

    Reply
  • 19. Joy Holland  |  September 6, 2013 at 2:45 am

    Brilliant! Thank you for your hard work xx

    Reply
  • 20. Linda Jean  |  September 6, 2013 at 3:09 am

    Thank you so much for all the information you provide as well as the freebies

    Reply
  • 21. Chris Ashworth  |  September 6, 2013 at 3:29 am

    Thanks for the sharing. Love your files and helpful videos! x

    Reply
  • 22. Roberta  |  September 6, 2013 at 3:35 am

    Thanks Kay! Always appreciate the time you take to share and teach us something. Now I will go back and look at the information you shared about wrapping text. Thanks for inspiring me to learn a little more!

    Reply
  • 23. sal  |  September 6, 2013 at 4:35 am

    thank you for this great new font, going to enjoy having a play with this one,

    Reply
  • 24. Jody Mason  |  September 6, 2013 at 4:44 am

    Thanks so much for the great font!! Just a note regarding photoshop – you can wrap objects to a path, such as brushes. Just go to the edit menu, define your object as a brush, then make sure it is selected in the brush palette. Then select the shape, right click on the shape and create a work path. Go to paths palette, right click, choose stroke path, then choose brush from the drop down menu.

    Reply
    • 25. Kay  |  September 6, 2013 at 8:39 am

      Thanks for sharing, Jody. Yes, I knew that you could technically do it with brushes, but I can never remember all those steps so like having this quick option, and vector quality at any size.

      Reply
  • 26. tlettling  |  September 6, 2013 at 6:21 am

    Thanks so much for all that you share.

    Reply
  • 27. Marilyn  |  September 6, 2013 at 6:42 am

    These are awesome thanks for sharing

    Hugz

    Marilyn

    Reply
  • 28. Irene  |  September 6, 2013 at 7:09 am

    I’m with Roberta (above)! You always inspire me to try new things and solve my problems before I even start. Thanks so much!!

    Reply
  • 29. Diane  |  September 6, 2013 at 7:21 am

    Kay you are wonderful! Thanks so much for doing this. Hugs,

    Reply
  • 30. trishreddick  |  September 6, 2013 at 7:33 am

    Hi Kay, I always get excited when I see a post from you in my inbox!!! I have learned so much from you and todays collection of shapes to wrap around an object is amazing. Oh my, the possibilities. I watch your videos over and over to refresh my memory so thank you thank you for all you share.

    Reply
  • 31. Tamara Voss  |  September 6, 2013 at 7:39 am

    Hi Kay,
    You rock. I love all of your helpful info.

    Reply
  • 32. Robin  |  September 6, 2013 at 7:52 am

    Thank you for your generous gift. Such great designs!

    Reply
  • 33. Patti Painter  |  September 6, 2013 at 8:02 am

    Oh my, love this so very much. What a fabulous set, can’t wait to play with these. Thanks so very much, I too love seeing something from you in my inbox…..

    Reply
  • 34. Barbara  |  September 6, 2013 at 8:06 am

    As always, thanks for your help!

    Reply
  • 35. 1cardcreator  |  September 6, 2013 at 8:34 am

    Thanks Kay, looks awesome too! You are such a wealth of knowledge, I really appreciate all your tips and help you offer here. ~Diane

    Reply
  • 36. ann patmore  |  September 6, 2013 at 8:42 am

    Thanks for this – I so wish you would produce a book we could all buy I know it would be a runaway best seller!

    Reply
  • 37. candace  |  September 6, 2013 at 9:09 am

    Thank you for being so generous!

    Reply
  • 38. MariaR  |  September 6, 2013 at 9:16 am

    So cool! Thank you :)

    Reply
  • 39. Carol W  |  September 6, 2013 at 9:16 am

    That IS clever! I managed to learn text to path thanks to the experts on the Silhouette Plus forum (you included!), and now I have a great new way to use that knowledge. Thank you.

    Reply
  • 40. Addy Christine  |  September 6, 2013 at 9:23 am

    Thank you so much for not only sharing but for inspiring!

    Reply
  • 41. Els AW  |  September 6, 2013 at 9:40 am

    Thanks Kay, it looks very good!

    Reply
  • 42. Mary  |  September 6, 2013 at 9:44 am

    I always look forward to your posts. You have amazing knowledge. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  • 43. Deanna  |  September 6, 2013 at 9:48 am

    Thank you so much! This is AMAZING!!!

    Reply
  • 44. Gisela  |  September 6, 2013 at 9:53 am

    You are amazing! I recently started following your blog and I am always excited to see the things you come up with! Can’t wait to try this out in a project, I’ll be sure to share a link with you once I’m done! Thank you so much!

    Reply
  • 46. Fay Burnett  |  September 6, 2013 at 10:04 am

    Wonderful font – thank you so VERY much! :)

    Reply
  • 47. Linda  |  September 6, 2013 at 10:05 am

    Thanks Kaye,
    These are fantastic!!!! Thank you for sharing

    Reply
  • 48. Dania Boise  |  September 6, 2013 at 10:52 am

    Awesome! you are a wealth of information. Thank you so much.

    Reply
  • 49. Mary Brouwer  |  September 6, 2013 at 10:52 am

    Thanks you so much! You blend the technical with the artistic!

    Reply
  • 50. Elizabeth Barnett  |  September 6, 2013 at 11:05 am

    dang you are SO good to us! thanks sweetie

    Reply
  • 51. Gigi  |  September 6, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    Thank you much! I have learned so much from you!!!!

    Reply
  • 52. KatLen  |  September 6, 2013 at 2:41 pm

    very cool – thanks

    Reply
  • 53. Yvonne South  |  September 6, 2013 at 3:35 pm

    Thank you so much for this – a brilliant idea – I was wondering how I could get shapes to do text to path it is such a pain not being able to use shapes – now you have come up with the answer.

    Reply
  • 54. Daphne  |  September 6, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    Kay- Leave it to your engineering mind to find a work around for getting objects to follow a line! Brilliant! Thanks so much for sharing.

    Reply
  • 55. ag  |  September 6, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    thank you :)

    Reply
  • 56. Karen L  |  September 6, 2013 at 4:59 pm

    Thanks Kay. I’m going to share your blog link with my Silhouette Group on Facebook.

    Reply
  • 57. Alla S  |  September 6, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    WOW!!! This dingbat font is Super…I downloaded it last night and could not stop playing with it Thank you so, so much. I’ve learned a lot about the Silhouette from your blog and love everything you share with us…

    Reply
  • 58. Marilyn in Michigan  |  September 6, 2013 at 7:37 pm

    Thanks so much, Kay! What a fabulous font!

    Reply
  • 59. Serena  |  September 6, 2013 at 7:59 pm

    Looks like fun! Thank you so much!

    Reply
  • 60. Chelsea  |  September 6, 2013 at 8:45 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing this with us. I love every single thing you share! I new to all of this, so I’ll have to figure out how to use these, but I know they will come in handy with my Cameo.

    Reply
  • 61. Linda McCormick  |  September 6, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    I love dingbats and these are great! Thanks much.

    Reply
  • 62. Shelly  |  September 6, 2013 at 9:45 pm

    Great dingbat font! Can’t wait to use it. Thank you so much for sharing your work!

    Reply
  • 63. Carri  |  September 6, 2013 at 10:27 pm

    Wow!!! Thanks!!!

    Reply
  • […] Border Bits – a new free dingbat font – 2 freebie(s) […]

    Reply
  • 65. Tam  |  September 7, 2013 at 3:20 am

    Awesome Ms. Kay you are always looking out for us. Great find too. TFS

    Reply
  • 66. calidune  |  September 7, 2013 at 4:34 am

    Super ! Merci beaucoup !

    Reply
  • 67. Patti G  |  September 7, 2013 at 5:54 am

    Truly awesome thank you for sharing them!

    Reply
  • 68. Sue  |  September 7, 2013 at 8:29 am

    Brilliant, thank you very much, off to have a play like NOW!

    Reply
  • 69. Kitt  |  September 7, 2013 at 9:37 am

    Thanks Kay for another awesome font. Hugs

    Reply
  • 70. Wendy Pannell  |  September 7, 2013 at 11:06 am

    OMG – who knew?!?!? I am cutting a design as I’m typing. Thanks so much!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 71. Mary Adams  |  September 7, 2013 at 12:29 pm

    Thank you

    Reply
  • 72. Soraya  |  September 7, 2013 at 2:31 pm

    thanks for this fantastic file!!

    Reply
  • 73. Jeanette  |  September 7, 2013 at 2:47 pm

    What a nifty and useful file. Thank you very much for sharing.
    Jeanette

    Reply
  • 74. Leanne  |  September 7, 2013 at 5:39 pm

    Wow – you are full of great ideas and are so generous to share them. Thank you!

    Reply
  • 75. Dona  |  September 7, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    Thanks for sharing. Thinking of ideas already. So much useful information on your site, Thanks

    Reply
  • 76. Jill F.  |  September 7, 2013 at 10:10 pm

    Thank you!

    Reply
  • 77. Rebecca S.  |  September 7, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    Kay – thank you for another wonderful file. Thanks for all you do and all you share. Really appreciate it. :)

    Reply
  • 78. Judy Blaise  |  September 7, 2013 at 11:03 pm

    Thank you Kay! Look forward to using the border bits.

    Reply
  • 79. Deb  |  September 8, 2013 at 1:51 am

    Actually Kay, you have made my day again. Thank you for your
    generosity of spirit and creativity. Deb

    Reply
  • 80. Pauline Purdum  |  September 8, 2013 at 6:43 am

    These are so fantastic and can be put to many uses, Thank you Kay

    Reply
  • 81. Pauline Purdum  |  September 8, 2013 at 11:19 am

    Kay, I have been playing with these with my limited skills, is there anyway to make the R,S,T,U dingbats point up and down instead of sideways?

    Reply
    • 82. Kay  |  September 9, 2013 at 11:03 pm

      No there’s not. I really should have put in a horizontal set. I’ll put that on the to-do list.

      Reply
  • 83. KathyinMN  |  September 8, 2013 at 1:24 pm

    Thanks for the font-I plan to try this out on photos on my iphone/ipad using Phonto.

    Reply
  • 84. Cindi Dickerson  |  September 8, 2013 at 2:27 pm

    Thanks so much Kay!! these will be very useful!!

    Reply
  • 85. kimberlyschlehahn  |  September 8, 2013 at 3:43 pm

    Thank you so much!!!

    Reply
  • 86. Sonja  |  September 8, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    Thank you! I’m loving it!

    Reply
  • 87. B  |  September 8, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    Thank you so much

    Reply
  • 88. Barb  |  September 8, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    Wow! What a great freebie! Thanks so much for sharing – can’t wait to cut it!

    Reply
  • 89. Amy Serbaroli  |  September 9, 2013 at 10:10 am

    Love it! Thank you so much!!! I’ve pinned it too :)

    Reply
  • 90. C Chase  |  September 9, 2013 at 11:31 am

    This is awesome! Thanks so much!

    Reply
  • 91. Sylvia Fish  |  September 9, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    Thank you! I am looking forward to trying it out.

    Reply
  • 92. blurooferika  |  September 9, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    Thanks a bunch! What a great bunch of shapes to cut. Happy fall to you!

    Reply
    • 93. Pauline Purdum  |  December 11, 2013 at 1:49 pm

      Hi Kay love the tutorial and am watching it for the third time. I k ow you use a Mac but is your “options” key the “Alt” key on PC? I will go upstairs where my laptop is and try it but I am eating lunch now with your tutorial casting from Chromecast onto my larger screen TV. love it I can see very clearly everything you do. Thank you so much for doing this.

      I so wish we could take designs that are not text or dingbats and do the same. I an making foam templates to make great ceramic bowls with designs cut into the foam. There are some cupcake wrappers that would be perfect but I have been struggling all morning trying to get them on a path that will make sense when I cut and assemble the bowls. Is there another software that you know of that could help do this? Even if I then have to put design back into SD to trace to get cut lines that would be OK. Again thanks so much for all you have done to help make us “power users” of our software and machine.

      Reply
      • 94. Kay  |  December 11, 2013 at 3:29 pm

        Hi Pauline,
        Yes option on the Mac = alt on the PC. Can’t believe I forgot that again! Inkscape or Make the Cut can put objects along a path. Or you can use online tools I cover elsewhere on the blog to put your designs into a custom font so that you can use them in Silhouette Studio. They require SVG input, though, so you might as well do the whole thing in Inkscape. Google “Pattern Along Path” in Inkscape for tutorials.

  • 95. Tessa R.  |  September 9, 2013 at 9:55 pm

    Make your day by leaving a comment?? You made my day when I watched your “Tracing Without Tears” videos. They are superb. YOU are superb. Thanks for the free font!

    Reply
  • 96. Cheryl  |  September 10, 2013 at 4:43 am

    Thank you so much! I am really looking forward to tryng them out!

    Reply
  • 97. Mary Kendrick  |  September 10, 2013 at 5:11 am

    Thank you so much for your fun fonts ..Very kind of you..

    I am in awe of your Tracing without Tears video also.. You are very clever and also you describe these videos in easiness of use and depth that i am so thrilled to have found your site. Thank you It certainly helps when you reach a certain age and you need to have things explained so you can understand them.. Not as if we were at college etc yesterday So the grey cells need more stimulus to see and take in! What is actually happening? Thank you once more..

    Reply
  • 98. Cori W  |  September 10, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    Thank you so much for this. I can’t wait to start using it!

    Reply
  • 99. lehtipollo  |  September 10, 2013 at 5:29 pm

    Love the arrowy things! Thanks so much :)

    Reply
  • 100. derya  |  September 11, 2013 at 7:09 am

    thank you so much for sharing it with us. you are a great person!

    Reply
  • 101. Lesley  |  September 12, 2013 at 12:30 am

    Thanks for sharing your talent!

    Reply
  • 102. Debbie  |  September 12, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    Thanks, Kay. Your ingenuity always impresses me. Another useful font!

    Reply
  • 103. Pat  |  September 13, 2013 at 9:32 am

    Thanks, Kay! I always enjoy your posts and it is so nice you so willingly share your talents and knowledge!

    Reply
  • 104. Cecelia  |  September 13, 2013 at 11:08 am

    I have visited your site many times and I am always grateful for the sharing and information that you provide. You have really helped me. Thank you.

    Reply
  • 105. Cindy Dean  |  September 13, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    Thank you very much for all your hard work.

    Reply
  • 106. Rochelle  |  September 14, 2013 at 5:14 am

    09KutUps is my all time favorite shape font! Thank you so much for making another one available.

    Reply
  • 107. tina  |  September 15, 2013 at 1:13 am

    Thanks so much Kay, you are simply the best!!

    Reply
    • 108. tina  |  September 15, 2013 at 1:35 am

      Kay, I have been playing with font and really love it, makes life so much easier. One little thing, the capital S right pointer, the bottom line doesn’t line up, it has a little hick up in it so if you line a bunch of them up and then weld them you get a little gap after every one instead of a straight line.

      Reply
      • 109. Kay  |  September 15, 2013 at 1:04 pm

        Thanks for letting me know, Tina. I am putting together a fix it list and this is going on there right now.

  • 110. Maddie  |  September 15, 2013 at 3:44 am

    Great stuff, thank you! I cling onto your tips & tuto’s and tell myself it will be alright .. someday.

    Reply
  • 111. Ann Burke  |  September 15, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    This is great Kay. Now is there a way to make ttf fonts out of svg images of rhinestone letters that I have saved? That would be great. In the process of getting a newer version of Inkscape so that I perhaps can. Thanks Kay for all you donate to the Silhouette world.

    Reply
    • 112. Kay  |  September 15, 2013 at 4:17 pm

      Yes, Ann, you can make a ttf with Inkscape with a tutorial here on my blog. http://cleversomeday.wordpress.com/2010/02/09/inkscape-dings/ I haven’t figured out how to handle spacing between letters so I’ve stuck to dingbat fonts for now. Another problem with rhinestone letters is that they have to be sized perfectly but you can give it a try and see how it works for you.

      Reply
  • 113. Hilary  |  September 16, 2013 at 12:38 am

    I have really enjoyed your tutorials on the Silhouette Cameo. I just got my machine last month, but thanks to you have learned much and love creating using your helpful hints.

    Reply
  • 114. sharonb  |  September 17, 2013 at 1:21 am

    Thank you for such a great border font! You are so sweet and generous to share it with us. I enjoy your blog so much and check it almost daily!!

    Reply
  • 115. Amrita  |  September 18, 2013 at 10:56 pm

    Thanks so much!

    Reply
  • 116. Torrie  |  September 20, 2013 at 9:31 pm

    That’s RAD! Thanks so much!

    Reply
  • 117. Kim  |  September 21, 2013 at 11:22 pm

    Thanks for sharing. Can wait to use it!

    Reply
  • 118. Sharon LeVine  |  September 21, 2013 at 11:38 pm

    thank you so much

    Reply
  • 119. Dee Halsema  |  September 21, 2013 at 11:49 pm

    Thank you so much, Kay! You are so generous with your time, talent, & expertise!! Your generocity will not go unnoticed. You will be rewarded highly for bringing smiles to so many of God’s children. You are a blessing to so many!! :) I hope you have some idea how truly appreciated you are!! Be blessed!! :)

    Reply
  • 120. Aggie  |  September 22, 2013 at 8:11 am

    Thank you so much!

    Reply
  • 121. Kathy Ann  |  September 22, 2013 at 9:03 am

    Thank you for sharing with all of us!

    Reply
  • 122. Anat  |  September 22, 2013 at 9:30 am

    Thank you!!!

    Reply
  • 123. Marg  |  September 22, 2013 at 10:40 am

    I can see so many uses for these. Thank you.

    Reply
  • 124. Sandi H  |  September 22, 2013 at 8:43 pm

    Thank you very much!

    Reply
  • 125. Sylvia F  |  September 26, 2013 at 8:21 am

    Thank you!

    Reply
  • 126. Alison  |  September 27, 2013 at 6:41 am

    Thank you for sharing

    Reply
  • 127. Michelle Lucas  |  September 27, 2013 at 3:51 pm

    I just found you on Youtube and so glad I did. I have had a silhouette for several years but have learned so much from your videos. You are clear and precise in your delivery so I thank you so much! Keep up the good work!!

    Reply
  • 128. Betty Durrant  |  September 30, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    Hi Kay,

    Thanks for sharing your talents! You made my day!

    Reply
  • 129. Tammy Jones  |  September 30, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    Thank you! This is so cute and just what I was looking for.

    Reply
  • 130. Brenda Ellison  |  October 1, 2013 at 2:08 pm

    Hello Kay, This is Fabulous. I know I will find many uses for this. Love Love Love it. Thanks so much for sharing as always. You are such a special person.

    Reply
  • 131. Pat  |  October 3, 2013 at 8:48 am

    Thanks Kay for sharing this “font”! I always enjoy your posts here and on the Yahoo Group! You are a wealth of information for so many!

    Reply
  • 132. Mary  |  October 5, 2013 at 3:03 pm

    Thank you or sharing this. Looks wonderful!!

    Reply
  • 133. Cheryl P  |  October 6, 2013 at 10:47 am

    Thank you so much for putting so many fun fonts in one place for us to download.

    Reply
  • 134. Deanna  |  October 6, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    Thank you so much! Looks like a lot of fun!!

    Reply
  • 135. j  |  October 11, 2013 at 6:19 am

    ty!

    Reply
  • 136. Sara Morales Ancic  |  October 11, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    I can’t wait to try this out! Thank you so much for sharing!

    Reply
  • 137. Susibi  |  October 12, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    Thanks for all your hard work!

    Reply
  • 138. Sharon Lones  |  October 22, 2013 at 7:41 pm

    Thank you so much for all of your wonderful help – know that it is appreciated

    Reply
  • 139. maia  |  October 23, 2013 at 10:04 am

    this is awesome! glad to have found you!

    Reply
  • 140. Joanne  |  October 23, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    Thank you for sharing. Hopefully I can use these and soon.

    Reply
  • 141. Cheryl Wright  |  October 24, 2013 at 6:11 pm

    Wonderful! Thanks so much!!!

    Reply
  • 142. Vivi Fitzgerald  |  October 25, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    Thanks a bunch!

    Reply
  • 143. Pamela McGillin  |  October 27, 2013 at 3:09 pm

    Thanks so much Kay. I have a project which I wish to start & two of these “border bits” are exactly what I need.

    Reply
  • 144. gale  |  November 3, 2013 at 5:54 pm

    thank you!

    Reply
  • 145. Amy P.  |  November 5, 2013 at 10:38 pm

    Thank you for teaching me so much! I found you through your “Tracing Without Tears” YouTube videos, based on lots of recommendations from lots of fellow learners on Facebook. I can’t wait to look some more through your blog!

    Reply
  • 146. Paula Gale  |  November 13, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    Hi Kay

    I haven’t been to download this before now, so wanted to thank you so very much for the time and effort you invested into creating this for us to use… I also appreciated the link to Gisela’s blog to see what she created – so that was a great help, thank you.

    I know you are a very busy lady – but wanted to say how much I miss having no posts from you – even though you will be busy doing lots of other interesting things (hopefully), It always makes me giddy to see that you have posted something new on your blog – I especially appreciated the series you did on the Silhouette Software ‘Tracing without tears’ – I credit you and that series for providing me with the information that lead to the proverbial penny finally dropping – as my husband likes to say ‘everyday’s a school day’ lol… you certainly taught me a great deal about my SIlhouette Designer Edition software. Thank you for that…

    kind regards, and thanks once again for the dingat you’ve created especially for us users, to overcome something that cannot easily and already be done within the software…

    Paula x x x

    Reply
  • 147. Nettte  |  November 15, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    Wow, thank you for sharing this lovely and incredibly useful font.

    Reply
  • 148. Johna  |  November 22, 2013 at 5:43 am

    thank you so much!! these are fantastic!

    Reply
  • 149. Janice  |  November 23, 2013 at 7:06 pm

    Thiese Border Bits are so much fun, Thank you! I’ll try them soon.

    Reply
  • 150. Cindy  |  December 7, 2013 at 11:24 am

    Thank you!!! You are talented!!

    Reply
  • […] And be sure to grab Border Bits, the font I demo in the video, here. […]

    Reply
  • 152. Lisa Chin  |  December 11, 2013 at 12:18 pm

    I LOVE your videos and all you do and I have recommended them to my friends who are Silhouette users too. Thank you so much for sharing. I have learned so much from you!

    Reply
  • 153. Katheryn Thames  |  December 11, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    I love the way you teach, Kay!

    Reply
  • 154. Ruby  |  December 11, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    I have learned so much from your videos. Thank you for your generosity of all the freebies you offer. Wishing you warm wishes for Christmas and a Happy and healthy New Year.

    Reply
  • 155. Ann Clack  |  December 11, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    thank you so much!

    Reply
  • 156. kimvickery  |  December 11, 2013 at 1:56 pm

    Thanks so much- love your your tube too

    Reply
  • 157. Jenny  |  December 11, 2013 at 2:28 pm

    Kay, I can’t thank you enough for the AWESOME information you share with the Silhouette community. You are so very gracious to do so. I’ve learned so much from your video tutorials…just about anything you do I’ve learned. I just love, love, love getting updates stating you have created a new tutorial and/or font. You are one in a million! I think I’m your #1 fan!!! :)

    Reply
  • 158. Amber  |  December 11, 2013 at 3:51 pm

    This is so awesome! I have pinned it, liked it and left a comment but that doesn’t even begin to show you how thankful I am. What an awesome gift. Thank you so much for sharing! :)

    Reply
  • 159. Megan Johnson  |  December 11, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    This is awesome! Thanks for the video tips and sharing the file.

    Reply
  • 160. VickiB  |  December 11, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    Thanks for the font and the videos – I am getting a portrait for Christmas and will be following your videos closely!

    Reply
  • 161. Lynn Shokoples  |  December 11, 2013 at 11:37 pm

    Amazing video and thank you for the freebies!! I’m so excited to try this.

    Reply
  • 162. Connie Haney  |  December 12, 2013 at 8:17 pm

    Just installed this font and can’t wait to use it in Silhouette DE. Thanks so much!

    Reply
  • 163. Tine  |  December 13, 2013 at 9:11 am

    This is so clever, Kay. Thank you for the font & sharing the tutorial too.

    Reply
  • 164. Bonnie  |  December 13, 2013 at 9:49 am

    Thank you so much for all your time and effort that you put into teaching and guidance. You truly have been a mentor for me!

    Reply
  • 165. Gail  |  December 13, 2013 at 9:55 am

    Amazing – thank you so much for sharing your talents!

    Reply
  • 166. John Page  |  December 14, 2013 at 7:22 am

    Thanks for that super demo that with the dingbats file will open a new dimension for me. best wishes from the UK, have a great christmas

    Reply
  • 167. Kathleen D  |  December 14, 2013 at 9:23 am

    Great video! Thanks so much for the info about deleting the font size (7:45 on video). When I would try to change a font size manually by inputting numbers it drove me nuts that my shape disappeared. I thought you couldn’t change font size manually and it drove me nuts! Now I know to just keep moving on with it even though my object disappears. Yeah! Mystery solved. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 168. Elisabeth Bucci  |  December 15, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    Excellent video and thanks so much for the free dingbat font. Wouldn’t you know it: it has all of my favourite things!
    Love your blog too!

    Reply
  • 169. Christina Woodbury  |  December 15, 2013 at 2:18 pm

    Thank you so much! I love it.

    Reply
  • 170. kelli thomas  |  December 16, 2013 at 8:20 pm

    Thank you. I love it and u rock! I get so much out of your videos etc

    Reply
  • 171. Lori Apgar  |  December 17, 2013 at 8:07 pm

    LOVE LOVE LOVE your videos!!!!!! Thank you so much!! I know the Gypsy inside and out, but still hesitate with the Cameo!

    Reply
  • 172. Laura Adams  |  December 18, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    You asked for it! Kay, when I saw this dingbat file, my jaw literally dropped open. I have spent the past two days working on a medallion design in Inkscape, very similar to the one in your pic, to use behind cutout openings in a box of cards I am giving as a gift. Thanks so much!!! You da bomb!

    Reply
  • 173. Sarah  |  December 18, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    Awesome! Thanks so much!!!

    Reply
  • 174. Evelyn  |  December 21, 2013 at 10:11 am

    Thanks for sharing your creativity and work. I love the border bits! I also enjoyed your video showing how to use them. I’ll be getting my Cameo for Christmas!!
    Evelyn

    Reply
  • 175. Rebecca S.  |  December 21, 2013 at 10:17 pm

    Kay – thank you so much for EVERYTHING you share. You are so knowledgeable and generous. It is truly appreciated. :)

    Reply
  • 176. Christina  |  December 23, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    I’m sooooo happy to get all the info for my crafting, love your videos, thanks so much for everything!!!!

    Reply
  • 177. Liana Miranda  |  December 27, 2013 at 1:56 pm

    Obrigada !!! Eu adorei !!!

    Reply
  • 178. Liana Miranda  |  December 27, 2013 at 1:57 pm

    Obrigada !!! Eu adorei !!!

    Reply
  • 179. Kim  |  December 27, 2013 at 7:03 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing! I’m a new Silhouette owner and can’t wait to “play”.

    Reply
  • 180. Charne  |  December 28, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    Thank you so much!

    Reply
  • 181. Cindy in Wisconsin  |  December 29, 2013 at 8:54 pm

    Many thanks! This looks like a lot of fun to use. Now I just need to find some time to play with the computer and my Silhouette!

    Reply
  • 182. Mia  |  December 30, 2013 at 12:53 pm

    Thank you SO MUCH for sharing!!

    Reply
  • 183. Cindy O  |  December 31, 2013 at 11:36 am

    Thank you for the border bits font. I will love making my own borders and mats with it. I’m a new Silhouette Cameo owner, and your blog will be a great resource for me to learn from.

    Reply
  • 184. Robin  |  December 31, 2013 at 4:14 pm

    Love your videos and it is so sweet of you to make files to share! Have a great New Year :)

    Reply
  • 185. gerda  |  January 1, 2014 at 6:13 pm

    tof, leuk, en beste wensen

    Reply
  • 186. Sheila  |  January 1, 2014 at 6:40 pm

    thanks so much! I will use this a lot,

    Reply
  • 187. Bobbie Czajka  |  January 3, 2014 at 12:35 pm

    Thank you for that great file! I can see lots of uses.

    Reply
  • 188. Donna  |  January 3, 2014 at 1:30 pm

    I was one of those who got my silhouette for Christmas and I SOOOO appreciate your tutorials and files! Thanks! You’re my new best friend!

    Reply
  • 189. Lisa Martin  |  January 3, 2014 at 8:13 pm

    Kay-Thank you so much for the wonderful Border Bits font and for you fantastic tutorials for the Silhouette software. I am trying to decide between the Sure Cuts A Lot and Make the Cut software for SVG files. Any thoughts????

    Reply
    • 190. Kay  |  January 3, 2014 at 9:17 pm

      Lisa, it really depends on the kinds of things you do. Check out the features comparison chart I have here on the blog and also try the trial versions.

      Reply
  • 191. Bobbij  |  January 7, 2014 at 10:20 pm

    I love Border Bits. Thank you so much.

    Reply
  • 192. Lisa  |  January 8, 2014 at 4:33 pm

    Absolutely fantastic Silhouette videos! I’m watching them all and plan to do so more than once! Thanks so much for this font (downloaded and pinned) and also for making it so I am actually able to use my new Silhouette Portrait in the way I want to. No other videos I watched are as helpful as yours. You are not only clever, but amazing!

    Reply
  • 193. Lisa Martin  |  January 8, 2014 at 6:40 pm

    Hi Kay-

    Thank you for the advice about software. I did download the trial versions of SCAL and Make the Cut. I decided on upgrading the Silhouette software to the designer edition. I have really enjoyed using it.

    Reply
  • 194. Joanne  |  January 10, 2014 at 9:35 am

    Thanks for your helpful videos. I just switched to the Cameo and am learning SCAL3 and Silhouette software. Your videos are some of the best I have found. Thanks so much.

    Reply
  • 195. Tracey Allen  |  January 13, 2014 at 9:20 am

    Thanks for the videos and thanks for the dingbat font

    Reply
  • 196. Angela C  |  January 14, 2014 at 10:32 am

    thank you for sharing

    Reply
  • 197. christine  |  January 16, 2014 at 10:53 am

    You are a godsend to many of us. Thank you so much for your generosity in time, talent and helpfulness!

    Reply
  • 198. Carol Melancon  |  January 16, 2014 at 11:47 am

    Thanks for sharing your Border Bits font.

    Reply
  • 199. IsabelH  |  January 18, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    Thank you so much!! I love it…you are awesome!

    Reply
  • 200. Elenora  |  January 18, 2014 at 1:52 pm

    That is fantastic – thank you so much!

    Reply
  • 201. Patricia Weitzel  |  January 18, 2014 at 4:15 pm

    We are having a good midwest snow storm today and I just found your blog and your videos. I couldn’t be more please. I have had my Silhouette for almost a year and I thought I knew a lot about it. Ha! I have learned so many things from you today and I only started exploring your sites about an hour ago.

    Thank you for being so willing to share your information with all of us!

    Reply
  • 202. Karla Pashia  |  January 19, 2014 at 3:41 pm

    Hi, Glad to find your blog. You’re an awesome teacher. Thank you

    Reply
  • 203. Amy Dann  |  January 21, 2014 at 1:42 pm

    This is great! Thank you so much! Your Text to Path video was recommended to me for a question I posted on Facebook. It is EXACTLY what I was looking for! Thank you for the font and thank you SO much for the tutorial!!

    Reply
  • 204. mrsw94  |  January 21, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    Thanks so much! I needed something just like this!!

    Reply
  • 205. Jsmithsister  |  January 21, 2014 at 2:44 pm

    Seriously Kay, would you just adopt me? It wouldn’t be weird that I’m an adult. At all. ;) I LOVE all of your tips. You’ve almost broken me down into buying DE just so I can do everything you talk about! Thanks so much for the great font too, would have made my life easier last night, but I’m glad I have it now for my next project :) Thanks!!!!

    Reply
  • 206. Ellen  |  January 23, 2014 at 6:52 pm

    Just discovered your site and love the tutorials you have! Thanks!

    Reply
  • 207. Tamsin  |  January 24, 2014 at 8:02 am

    Great tutorials. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 208. Sandy L  |  January 27, 2014 at 5:22 pm

    Thank you SO much Kay! You have made my day, too. :)

    Reply
  • 209. Anna Higginbottom  |  January 30, 2014 at 7:32 am

    Just found you on YT and followed your link here, thanks for sharing :)

    Reply
  • 210. kendell  |  January 30, 2014 at 9:19 am

    Thank you for sharing, it is really appreciated

    Reply
  • 211. Linda  |  January 30, 2014 at 7:42 pm

    Thanks so much

    Reply
  • 212. Linda S  |  February 1, 2014 at 4:29 pm

    Awesome! Thank you so much. New to Silhouette and I am now following you!

    Reply
  • 213. jeanette  |  February 3, 2014 at 10:59 pm

    Love Border Bits and the tutorial to use it! Thanks so much!

    Reply
  • 214. Crystal  |  February 5, 2014 at 9:42 am

    Just what I needed! Thanks so much!

    Reply
  • 215. Denise  |  February 9, 2014 at 5:27 pm

    Great tutorial, and awesome file – thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 216. Cheryl Endriga  |  February 12, 2014 at 9:49 pm

    I would really love to have this but for some reason I am having trouble installing it. The message “can not install borderbits.tff. The file does not appear to be a valid font”, keeps on popping whenever I try to install it.

    Reply
  • 217. Cheryl E  |  February 12, 2014 at 10:00 pm

    Never mind. I figured it out, it was on my security settings. Thanks for the file.

    Reply
  • 218. KELLIE  |  February 15, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    I can not tell you the time I have wasted trying to get text to path right. That toggle, I had NO clue! And thank you for the boarder bits, they will be fun!

    Reply
  • 219. Tanya  |  February 18, 2014 at 8:15 pm

    Thanks so much for taking the time to make these files available for everyone! Your video tutorials are fantastic and have really brought me to a new level in Silhouette studio!

    Reply
  • 220. Debi  |  February 19, 2014 at 4:05 pm

    I want to be you when I grow up lol don’t know if that is possible seeing how I will be 60 in a couple of week. You are sooo talented I am so jealous. Thanks for sharing all your great files

    Reply
  • 221. Liz  |  February 20, 2014 at 9:49 am

    Thanks, Kay another awesome goodie from your creative mind!

    Reply
  • 222. Karem  |  February 25, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    Great dingbat font. Thanks so much!

    Reply
  • 223. Whitney Cantrell  |  March 3, 2014 at 12:46 pm

    Thanks Kay! This is wonderful. I can’t wait to see what I can create with this.

    Reply
  • 224. Betsy  |  March 4, 2014 at 9:20 pm

    Thank you!! :)

    Reply
  • 225. Donna B  |  March 11, 2014 at 12:49 am

    Thank you Kay. I have learned so much from all that you share.

    Reply
  • 226. Pam  |  March 12, 2014 at 8:15 pm

    Thank you! I am new to paper crafting and die cut machines and I really appreciate your generosity with sharing your fonts :)

    Reply
  • 227. LeAnn  |  March 14, 2014 at 12:35 pm

    Thanks so much for the font and for the demo of how to use it!!!

    Reply
  • 228. Cat  |  March 16, 2014 at 7:37 pm

    Just found your site! It’s awesome and very clear. Thanks for the great border ding bats.

    Reply
  • 229. Karen McCarthy  |  March 23, 2014 at 9:16 am

    Fab tutorial on text to path, thanks for the file – very useful x

    Reply
  • 230. Anne  |  March 26, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    Wonderful file – thank you for your generosity!

    Reply
  • 231. Charlene Mitchell  |  March 29, 2014 at 11:06 pm

    Thanks so much for this awesome font file! Your video is awesome and has some really great tips! Thank you!

    Reply
  • 232. Christina Morales  |  April 6, 2014 at 1:58 pm

    Lots to learn from you. Just watched your border tutorial. Thank you so much. I hope I can do your border bits justice.

    Reply
  • 233. Annette  |  April 16, 2014 at 7:22 pm

    thanks so much, Kay – this should be really useful!!!!

    Reply
  • 234. Laura Broome  |  April 28, 2014 at 11:05 am

    Awesome. Thank you.

    Reply
  • 235. Debra  |  April 29, 2014 at 11:19 am

    Thank you for sharing your creativity! How can I make a path the shape of an apple or a balloon?

    Reply
  • 237. Virgen  |  April 29, 2014 at 9:29 pm

    Thanks for sharing!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 238. Cheryl  |  April 30, 2014 at 9:20 am

    Thanks so much! Heard about this font through a video tutorial and couldn’t wait to come download it and try it out. Your video tutorials are absolutely the best! I found your blog when I first got my Silhouette through your post for new Silhouette owners. When I talk about the Silhouette learning curve with friends, I point them to you. Thanks for providing such a fantastic resource!

    Reply
  • 239. Patti G  |  May 8, 2014 at 5:05 am

    I just refound your blog Thank you!!!!

    Reply
  • 240. Patty B  |  May 19, 2014 at 8:34 pm

    Just viewed your youtube and couldn’t wait to download and start using this great font. Thanks so much…just getting started with my Silhoutte, so have enjoyed learning from several of your blogs…great, great help

    Reply
  • 241. Patty B  |  May 19, 2014 at 9:54 pm

    Help…I just downloaded the font..unzipped it but when I click the .ttf file it does not have an install. It just opens a printable file. I understood from your youtube video that when I click on the ttf file it should install. Where did I go wrong? Thanks for any help you can give.

    Reply
    • 242. Kay  |  May 19, 2014 at 10:54 pm

      Not an expert on Win installations but this usually means you aren’t clicking on the extracted version.

      Reply
  • 243. Patty B  |  May 20, 2014 at 11:01 pm

    Thanks Kay…I changed computers and the install worked fine. I believe it was my security program blocking the install. I am now a happy camper. Thanks again.

    Reply
  • 244. Val  |  May 21, 2014 at 3:36 pm

    Just found you thanks to a page on facebook. Thanks for sharing such an awesome font!

    Reply
  • 245. Shari Dancer-Thomas  |  May 22, 2014 at 5:00 am

    Thanks for these!

    Reply
  • 246. Kerri  |  June 2, 2014 at 1:08 pm

    Great video and cute font!

    Reply
  • 247. Jan  |  June 7, 2014 at 4:32 am

    Thanks, his is great – just what I was looking for!

    Reply
  • 248. Pamela Lefebvre  |  June 8, 2014 at 11:21 am

    Thanks so much for all that you share. I think you’re amazing! You’ve really helped open my world up SO much. Pam

    Reply
  • 249. Lisa  |  June 10, 2014 at 8:42 am

    Thanks for creating, sharing and showing ways to use this font, and for all the great tutorials you have.
    I’m a new Silhouette user and am loving how much I can do with it already thanks in large part to your detailed videos!

    Lisa

    Reply
  • 250. Shal  |  June 12, 2014 at 9:19 am

    thanks a bunch for sharing this :)

    Reply
  • 251. Sherri Braun  |  June 15, 2014 at 7:30 am

    Thank you very much for this font! I’ve really enjoyed using it.

    Reply
  • 252. OzzyCat  |  June 16, 2014 at 10:25 pm

    Thank you, Kay, for this awesome dingbat font. I cannot even find words to tell you how much I appreciate all your amazing tutorials. Without them I think I would have given up trying to learn how to use my Silhouette Cameo. I need to know how things work and why before I can fully comprehend what to do. Your in-depth no more tears series of how to trace gave me the confidence to try everything and understand what each function does. I can usually accomplish what I set out to do with my Cameo now, and it’s a great feeling. You are a wonderful teacher.

    Reply
  • 253. Martha Vaughan  |  June 20, 2014 at 2:23 pm

    Awesome to happen upon your site and find BorderBits. Thanks so much!

    Reply
  • 254. Johnf323  |  June 25, 2014 at 10:08 pm

    Definitely, what a fantastic website and informative posts, I definitely will bookmark your blog.All the Best!

    Reply
  • 255. Carmen  |  August 17, 2014 at 11:40 am

    Thank you so much for putting all of your videos together. I am learning so much about using my Silhouette Cameo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,635 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Cricut and Sure Cuts A Lot Top 40
Silhouette Top 40
Sure Cuts A Lot Top 40
Make The Cut Top 40

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,635 other followers

