Tracing Without Tears … a new video series

January 23, 2013 at 6:46 pm 55 comments

I’m very excited to be releasing Part 1 of my series of videos about tracing in Silhouette Studio. It’s a new approach I hope will help ease some frustration. In Part 1 I cover why and when you need to trace, what are the best kinds of images to trace, how to do a basic trace, and how to avoid the “double line” problem. Please help me get the word out to any Silhouette newbies you know.

 

Playlist for all videos in the series is here

Entry filed under: Silhouette. Tags: , , , , .

Double-sided print and cut in SS Part 2 … Tracing Without Tears

55 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruby52  |  January 23, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    Thank you for taking the time to share this info.

    Reply
  • 2. jane  |  January 23, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    Thank you so much for all your lessons-one of these days I will really try to use them!!

    Reply
  • 3. Ted  |  January 23, 2013 at 7:50 pm

    Kay, this was wonderful! Looking forward to more in the series. :) Thank you!

    Reply
  • 4. SallyW  |  January 23, 2013 at 7:58 pm

    Thank You. I do have MTC and Silhouette Cameo with the DE. I will watch all your videos on the Silhouette to learn the program because I am not familar with this program. I would also like to know how to bring in a font and background papers into the program.
    SallyW

    Reply
  • 5. Dixie  |  January 23, 2013 at 7:59 pm

    You explained this so well! Thank you!!

    Reply
  • 6. ML  |  January 23, 2013 at 8:12 pm

    Thank you for the information. This is very helpful. It is easier to rememberwhat to do when you know why you do it. I will look forward to the next video

    Reply
  • 7. Shawna  |  January 23, 2013 at 8:38 pm

    Thank you Kay for doing this! This is so easy to understand; you did an outstanding job! I have never understood the difference between raster and vector and your explanation was simple and easy!!! So looking forward to next video on tracing!

    Reply
  • 8. Carol  |  January 23, 2013 at 8:40 pm

    I haven’t even taken my Silhouette out of the box yet and I’ve learned something! I’m sure I’ll be back for more educating! Thanks for your video.

    Reply
  • 9. Cheryl Chifley  |  January 23, 2013 at 10:38 pm

    thanks for that, it does explain a few things for me. Looking forward to the next video

    Reply
  • 10. DreamyNest Designs  |  January 24, 2013 at 12:51 am

    Kay – you Rock! Thank you!

    Reply
  • 11. Liz Lumsden  |  January 24, 2013 at 5:11 am

    Oh, Kay! This is wonderful. Love your “behind the scenes” explanation to tracing. Knowing how the program thinks really helps with my understanding tracing. Can’t wait for the next video!

    Reply
  • 12. Jackie  |  January 24, 2013 at 9:14 am

    Thank you so much – this is a wonderful video! Very informative and easy to understand. I am looking forward to more in this series.

    Reply
  • 13. Donna  |  January 24, 2013 at 11:09 am

    Thank you for sharing this information. I’m pretty new at using my Silhouette and it really helps when I understand “why” as well as “how” to do something new. I look forward to your next video.

    Reply
  • 14. Elizabeth Gower  |  January 24, 2013 at 11:42 am

    Thanks Kay, this was great.

    Reply
  • 15. Sue Alger  |  January 24, 2013 at 12:35 pm

    Thanks so much. Can’t wait until the next video. I like the semi-technical info because it helps in my understanding. Tracing has perhaps been the most perplexing to me.

    Reply
  • 16. Gina H  |  January 24, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    Great job, Kay ! Thanks for the video, you kept it easy to understand for newbies and experienced users alike.

    Reply
  • 17. Paula Gale  |  January 24, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    Hi Kay

    I’ve been a subscriber for a while – first came to you looking for tutorials on inkscape – It never really took off for me – however, as a cameo owner, I’m really grateful for the stuff you do on the software… I’ve shared with the facebook group I’m in – Silhouette Cameo Papercrafts… a great group all about using the cameo in cardmaking and papercrafting – no vinyl in this group though…

    Thank you for what you do – it’s very much appreciated that you take your own personal time out to do this for other users of the Cameo – probably the most popular electronic die cutting machine on the planet right now!

    I feel so lucky to own one .

    Paula x x x

    Reply
  • 18. Paula Gale  |  January 24, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    Hi Kay

    I’ve now just watched the video and understand so much more than I already did. In the very early versions of Silhouette Studio (I’m talking when they were with Quikutz), I bought the original quikutz silhouette electronic cutter (2008)- the software used to enable you to take your image into another window and make it darker so that you could trace it better – but that feature disappeared as the software has been updated over time – to where we are now. While it is so much more user friendly now, I have really struggled with the double line issue… thanks to you, I now know what to do, and why its happening.

    I also remember why I would have downloaded Inkscape in order to make the images darker to be able to trace them – or even turn them into a differnt file type.

    thank you again Kay – can’t wait to see what the next set of videos bring.

    Paula x x x

    Reply
  • 19. Sonja  |  January 24, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    This is a brilliant tutorial thank you for explaining the detail can’t wait for the next one. Thank you!
    Sonja

    Reply
  • 20. CarolB  |  January 24, 2013 at 3:26 pm

    great tutorial.

    Reply
  • 21. Janet Stiner  |  January 24, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing this. I have been trying to figure out how I can cut images to match my stamps….it worked!

    Reply
  • 22. Brandi (Scubascrapper Brandi)  |  January 24, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    Kay,

    I just wanted to take a second and thank you for sharing your knowledge! All of your tutorials are great. You break things down so well and make them so easy to understand. I have followed you for quite a while and I rarely comment on blogs, but I feel like it is the least I can do to let you know that you are appreciated!! Have a blessed day.

    Reply
  • 23. Lynne Phelps  |  January 24, 2013 at 5:03 pm

    This is exactly the level of detail I need! Not only what to do but WHY. I use adobe Illustrator all the time so the Silhouette Studio tracing function has baffled me until you explained the different criteria it is using. I look forward to the future videos in this series!!

    Reply
  • 24. Pat  |  January 24, 2013 at 5:23 pm

    That was a great tutorial! Your explanations were so easy for me to understand. Thank you!

    Reply
  • 25. Kathy B.  |  January 24, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    I can’t adequately express how excited I am as well. Will this apply to stamped images that I scan in and want to then cut? THANK YOU SO much!

    Reply
  • 27. Elizabeth De Sousa  |  January 24, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    hi,
    thank you for all your tips.

    Reply
  • 28. Amy O  |  January 26, 2013 at 12:19 am

    Beautiful job! I wish this had been available when I was starting out! I had to look all over to find the info you summed up in one video! I will be sending newer users to see this from now on.

    Reply
  • 29. Rebecca S.  |  January 27, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    Thank you for taking the time to prepare your videos. They are so easy to understand and very, very helpful.

    Reply
  • 30. Donna Phelan  |  February 2, 2013 at 6:51 pm

    I did enjoy watching, thank you so much! I will be looking forward to more of your easy to understand videos! Awesome!

    Reply
  • 31. Pat  |  February 3, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    When is the next video? This one is great! Thank you

    Reply
  • 32. Beth Nelwin  |  February 3, 2013 at 8:03 pm

    When is the next video coming?

    Reply
  • 33. Part 2 … Tracing Without Tears « Clever Someday  |  February 4, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    [...] And in case you missed Part 1, you can find it here. [...]

    Reply
  • 34. Part 3 … Tracing Without Tears « Clever Someday  |  February 19, 2013 at 10:08 pm

    [...] in case you missed Part 1, you can find it here or for Part 2, click [...]

    Reply
  • 35. Arlene  |  February 24, 2013 at 11:39 pm

    This is fantastic. Your video was shared on Die Cut Divas by one of our members.

    Reply
  • 36. Part 4 … Tracing Without Tears | Clever Someday  |  March 2, 2013 at 10:28 am

    [...] in case you missed Part 1, you can find it here ,Part 2 is here and Part 3 is [...]

    Reply
  • 37. Part 5 … Tracing Without Tears | Clever Someday  |  March 15, 2013 at 8:54 pm

    [...] in case you missed Part 1, you can find it here,Part 2 is here, Part 3 is here and Part 4 is [...]

    Reply
  • 38. Susan  |  March 26, 2013 at 7:31 am

    Kay, your tutorials are so clear and well-explained. Thanks for doing this!

    Reply
  • 39. Part 6 … Tracing Without Tears | Clever Someday  |  March 29, 2013 at 11:56 am

    [...] in case you missed Part 1 (intro), you can find it here,Part 2 (threshold) is here, Part 3 (line art) is here , Part 4 (print and cut) is here, and Part [...]

    Reply
  • 40. S. Brown  |  March 31, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    I found your videos via Splicoastampers. Thank you so much for these very informative videos. They are very well done & helped me understand my Cameo even better. I also looked at other parts of your website & they are also full fo helpful things.

    Reply
  • 41. Jenelle W.  |  April 12, 2013 at 2:18 pm

    I have been SO lost with my Silhouette, I know it can do cool things, but am just overwhelmed. This video made it so simple, I’ll be watching your other ones next. Just wanted to say thanks, and I appreciate it!

    Reply
  • [...] in case you missed Part 1 (intro), you can find it here, Part 2 (threshold) is here, Part 3 (line art) is here , Part 4 (print and cut) is here, Part 5 [...]

    Reply
  • 43. Part 8 … Tracing Without Tears | Clever Someday  |  May 17, 2013 at 8:18 pm

    […] in case you missed Part 1 (intro), you can find it here,Part 2 (threshold) is here, Part 3 (line art) is here , Part 4 (print and cut) is here, Part 5 […]

    Reply
  • 44. Pam  |  May 20, 2013 at 8:20 am

    Thank you! this was so informative. I’ve learnt a lot already, I haven’t really done much with the tracing feature so far and this video has demystified it for me – going to look all the rest in this series now. thanks again

    Reply
  • 45. forrestwife  |  July 10, 2013 at 9:53 am

    Thank you very much.
    Very informative and answered a lot of my questions

    Reply
  • 46. Valerie  |  September 8, 2013 at 12:26 pm

    I’ve just discovered your videos for the Silhouette. I’m thrilled to find detailed instruction from a fellow Mac user! THANK YOU!!

    Reply
  • 47. Mary Kendrick  |  September 9, 2013 at 7:30 pm

    Great Video!! It explains lots about the trace elements and makes much more sense of it..than you so much so glad I found this thanks to a lady on Facebook …Debby Thanks..

    Reply
  • 48. Tammy Whitley  |  October 2, 2013 at 7:46 pm

    Thank you!!! You were referred to me by a friend because I couldn’t grasp the concept of tracing. You make it seem so simple I can’t wait to watch the rest of your videos!! Thank you again for making it so much simpler

    Reply
  • 49. 6tag-8300016-558965688312546939_8300016.jpg | Sundae's Shop  |  October 28, 2013 at 9:21 pm

    […] My favorite tracing tutorial for the Silhouette is from CleverSomeDay.   She explains things very clearly and it is totally worth the time.  She has a whole tracing series called Tracing Without Tears. […]

    Reply
  • 50. Sue D.  |  November 7, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    I am so excited to have found this series about tracing. Easy to follow, thanks for all the time you took to create this series.

    Reply
  • 51. Linda  |  December 12, 2013 at 4:14 pm

    I just watched the first tracing without tears video and in 7 minutes you showed me what I have spent 2 days trying to figure out. Thank you so much!

    Reply
  • 52. Cathy  |  January 19, 2014 at 12:57 am

    Thanks for posting this. I haven’t had a chance to try this, but I think it is exactly what I needed to know. I have Embird software and I figured out how to save an applique as a jpg or bmp, but then I didn’t know what to do with it once I opened it in Silhouette software.

    Reply
  • 53. Kelly  |  January 28, 2014 at 11:39 am

    Thank you so much for these videos and all of your tutorials. You have no idea how much my family thanks you. They no longer have to hear me scream and cuss because of my silhouette frustration! You are my new best friend.

    Reply
  • 54. wrightdesignme  |  March 22, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    Thank you so much.

    Reply
  • 55. Robert Plate  |  April 17, 2014 at 5:06 pm

    Great videos. Thought I knew how to use Silhouette Studio, but I learned so much I didn’t know. Thank you. You have such a calming teaching voice.Easy to listen to. Very professionally done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,117 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Cricut and Sure Cuts A Lot Top 40
Silhouette Top 40
Sure Cuts A Lot Top 40
Make The Cut Top 40

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,117 other followers

