How to become a Wordle power user

June 4, 2010 at 9:36 pm 31 comments

Learn how to use Wordle Advanced with a spreadsheet to make Wordle more powerful and flexible.

Here are the links that go with the video:

Entry filed under: Computer Crafts. Tags: , , , .

Easy and cheap custom embossing dies Latest MTC version simplifies print and cut

31 Comments Add your own

  • 1. grace  |  June 5, 2010 at 7:45 am

    Attention ALL Worldle Users. You must see this video. It’s absolutely fantastic. Thank you so much for setting up the formulas. I can’t wait to use this spreadsheet. Thank you Kay.

    Reply
  • 2. veronica  |  July 13, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    help! I’m a new wordle user & can’t get my project to work. I’m trying to do a bunch of random letters – d e r f y (example) with one letter being larger than the others. It won’t create anything when I say ‘Go’. Any help is appreciated.

    Reply
    • 3. Kay  |  July 14, 2010 at 7:27 am

      Veronica,
      Make sure you are using wordle advanced. Also check to see that wordle works on your machine with regular words. If it doesn’t then you’ve got a technical problem for which I will refer you to the FAQs at wordle.net.

      Reply
  • 5. Paula Naugle  |  July 27, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    Just saw a tweet pointing to this blog post. I bookmarked it and can’t wait to try it out. Thank you for the video with clear and concise steps to follow. You should produce teaching video tutorials because you are wonderful at it.

    Reply
  • [...] How to become a Wordle power user « Clever Someday video (tags: wordle) [...]

    Reply
  • 7. links for 2010-07-30 « doug – off the record  |  July 31, 2010 at 12:04 am

    [...] How to become a Wordle power user « Clever Someday Learn how to use Wordle Advanced with a spreadsheet to make Wordle more powerful and flexible. (tags: wordle tools web2.0 technology advanced power) [...]

    Reply
  • 8. Ron Henderson  |  August 1, 2010 at 9:25 am

    When I click on http://go2.wordpress.com/?id=725X1342&site=cleversomeday.wordpress.com&url=http%3A%2F%2Fspreadsheets.google.com%2Fccc%3Fkey%3D0Aq-zb0Oir370dEM0N3lsZ3ljYU1uNEpybzl1cmdQenc%26hl%3Den&sref=http%3A%2F%2Fcleversomeday.wordpress.com%2F2010%2F06%2F04%2Fwordlepower%2F, the link above to the speadsheet generator, the computer will not load it. Is theire a more direct link. Alternatively, you could just send the the code to put in my own spreadsheet, and I will create.

    Thanks
    Ron Henderson

    Reply
    • 9. Kay  |  August 1, 2010 at 11:28 am

      Ron,
      Not sure where you got that loooong link (some sort of feed, perhaps). The direct link is on this blog page, directly under the video. You can download the spreadsheet to your own computer from there if you like.

      Reply
  • 10. Dan  |  August 1, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    Thanks for this post. I plan n using this with using this with my students. I like using Wordle for many activities. Thank you also for sharing the google doc file.

    I have another question that does not have to do with Wordle but the screen capture itself. I was curious what software you used to create the video. I have used Jing but I like the ability you have to zoom into menus.

    Would you please tell me the software you used. I am also a Mac user.

    Thanks again.

    Dan

    Reply
    • 11. Kay  |  August 1, 2010 at 3:02 pm

      Dan,
      I use a program called ScreenFlow ($99 telestream.net). I am really enjoying it. Perhaps you could get a better deal as an educator.

      Reply
  • 12. CRSimmons  |  August 12, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Thanks for the Wordle video. Very well done. Question: How do I insert Greek letters into the Wordle? I want to use Greek and English words. How do I let Wordle know I am using a Character set for the Greek letters? Is this possible? Thank you!

    Reply
    • 13. Kay  |  August 12, 2010 at 8:51 pm

      This has been discussed in the Wordle Yahoo group, but I don’t remember the details so check the archives there. As I recall you type in the characters into the entry box as you would in a word processor and then try different fonts in Wordle to see which ones support those characters.

      Reply
  • 14. Meredith Hairell  |  August 22, 2010 at 8:29 am

    This video is SO helpful! Thank you!!

    Do you have one for what to do with the Wordle once you’ve built it? (how to export it)

    Can a variety of fonts be used in same Wordle?

    I appreciate your help!

    Reply
  • 16. Dora  |  August 25, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Hi! I’ve been playing with this and would like to upload some screen captures to snapfish for printing, but the resolution is too low for a good, large print where I could really see the littler words in the final product. Do you know of a way to save the wordle in a higher resolution? Thanks!

    Reply
    • 17. Kay  |  August 26, 2010 at 8:24 am

      Yes, Dora, you can use “print to PDF” to get a scaleable vector image that can be printed at any size. If you use a Mac just click the PDF button at the bottom of the print dialog and choose “Save as PDF”. If you are using A PC, check the Wordle FAQs for more information. I’m not sure if Snapfish, etc. can print from PDFs, but if not you can use the PDF to export a higher resolution jpg for printing.

      Reply
  • 18. Kristie  |  August 29, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    What a great explination on Wordle. I have a much better understanding on how to use it more specifically. Thanks!

    Reply
  • [...] **If you have time, feel free to try out Advanced Wordle.  Video: “How to Become a Wordle Power User”** [...]

    Reply
  • 20. diana  |  October 27, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    thank you so much! This is great. I missed a few words of the explanation (as I am Italian), but the video helps a lot! Also I love your accent, is it from the south?
    diana

    Reply
    • 21. Kay  |  October 28, 2010 at 9:09 pm

      Thank you, Diana, and yes, my accent is from the south.

      Reply
  • 22. Judith K  |  October 30, 2010 at 9:21 am

    Thanks for the Wordle tutorial … good stuff!

    Reply
  • 23. Barbara  |  June 5, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    Thanks Kay is there a way to searh for premade wordles?
    Like a graduation one?

    Reply
    • 24. Kay  |  June 5, 2011 at 8:09 pm

      No, unfortunately, not from within Wordle. You can search Google images for “graduation wordle” or do an advanced google search like this “graduation site:wordle.net” but it will probably be quicker to just create your own.

      Reply
  • 25. Lucy  |  August 31, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    I’ve had this bookmarked for some time. It’s the best explanation of using Wordle Advanced that I’ve come across. I have a question, though. How did you get the accessible files to show above the spreadsheet so you can quickly go to the Hex codes and other documents? Thanks for any help you can provide. I’m new to Wordle, but have had fun playing with the standard form of it. I’m itching to try it with my own colors.

    Reply
  • 26. Kay  |  September 3, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Lucy,
    I am using tabs feature in my browser to be able to get to everything quickly.

    Reply
  • 27. Owen Dall  |  February 3, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    Thanks for that. Very nice!

    Reply
  • 28. Jami Stone  |  September 27, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    Thank you for solving my Wordle problems!

    Reply
  • 29. Alexander Åkerberg  |  April 10, 2013 at 5:17 am

    Can’t copy the Word Count any more… Anyone got a solution or work around?

    Reply
    • 30. Kay  |  April 10, 2013 at 10:26 pm

      Alexander, please see the last link in this post.

      Reply
  • 31. paula k  |  August 22, 2013 at 9:40 pm

    Thanks so much for the video–very helpful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,719 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Cricut and Sure Cuts A Lot Top 40
Silhouette Top 40
Sure Cuts A Lot Top 40
Make The Cut Top 40

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,719 other followers

