Sharpie checklist

May 23, 2010 at 6:45 pm 12 comments

I love Sharpies, but I am not too impressed with the Sharpie web site. Oh, it’s cute, but a little thin on the info. For instance, there is not a list of colors. You can only see each individual color as you mouse over it <sigh>. So I moused all over the site, writing down each color as it was revealed and thought some of you might want to have a copy of my Sharpie Checklist, too. I made both a checkbox and a space for hand coloring in case you want to test colors you don’t own yet (Office Depot is a great place for this since they have a bunch of individual Sharpies with the colors labeled). The column on the far left is my attempt to match up the Sharpie colors with the Bic Mark-It colors using an untrained eye and the Sharpies I could get my hands on for side by side comparison. In general, the Sharpies write brighter than the Bics, so there aren’t as many close matches as you’d expect.

A big disadvantage to Sharpies is that the color name does not appear on the marker itself and sometimes not on the package either so it can be difficult to tell what color Sharpie you hold in your hand. My next step is to label my Sharpies with their color names. Hmmm, I wonder if you can write on a Sharpie with a Sharpie?

Oh, and if you are looking for a Bic Mark-It Color List along with cross reference to Copic and Prismacolor colors, you can get that from Lindsay over at The Frugal Crafter blog.

Entry filed under: Digital Scrapbooking, Freebies. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Scoring and “Stitching” in SCAL2 Easy and cheap custom embossing dies

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. thefrugalcrafter  |  May 24, 2010 at 5:51 am

    Wow, Kay, I tried to add sharpies to my charts but the website arrgh! I couldn’t make sure I had the right color, thanks for this hun;)

    Reply
  • 2. Trisha  |  May 24, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    This is a great idea! Thanks!

    Reply
  • 3. GrannyCharlotte  |  May 25, 2010 at 8:02 am

    Thanks for sharing your hard work with us. This will work very well as I have been collecting sharpies. Thanks again.

    Reply
  • 4. Graciela  |  July 23, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    this is so cool! I have been collecting sharpies lately… and i have 33 ultra fine colors, but i think i can only get 4 more. some of them aren’t sold anymore at all! i am not impressed by the website either, because they don’t sell many of the ones that i want. and honestly, it’s not too hard to match sharpies to the colors. i have been working on that lately. i ended up writing the color name on the cap because that’s where you’re not always holding it so hopefully it won’t rub off.

    Reply
  • 5. Elaine  |  December 18, 2010 at 11:56 pm

    Thank you! I was getting frustrated looking for something like this!

    Reply
  • 6. Kelly B  |  March 5, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Totally agree that Sanford should label the Sharpies with the name and/or series (80’s Glam, etc).

    Checklist is great. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 7. Sarah  |  July 6, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    Thanks for this. I did my best matching up my colors to your list and the colors as pictured on the website. I wrote the name on the Sharpie with a Bic permanent marker :)
    I’m just looking for a list of Sharpie colors with a Copic equivilent… :)

    Reply
  • 8. Erin Milligan  |  July 7, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    Thanks for your doc. I have all 54 colors in the ultra fine, and had written the color names on a sheet of paper, but I’m glad of a spreadsheet!

    Reply
  • 9. Heather Rosens  |  July 20, 2011 at 1:45 am

    Did you know that a gold metallic fine point was released at the same time as the metallic silver fine point first came out? They were originally packaged together as a two-pack. Something must have been wrong with the gold cuz it suddenly disappeared. Right when mine “disappearred” and I needed to buy a new one for my collection.

    Reply
  • 10. marckle myers  |  September 14, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    THANKS do much for sharing this. i am obsessed over missing colours in my ultra fine collection! now i can spend more time filling out your chart and HOPEFULLY get my collection complete! at last!

    Reply
  • 11. Laura  |  January 31, 2013 at 10:20 am

    THANKS SO MUCH!!!!! that is awesome!

    Reply
  • 12. Montey Blain  |  July 23, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    I have Sharpie Brand Markers with brush tips. I noticed those are not on your list. FYI. THANKS FOR THE LIST!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,876 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Cricut and Sure Cuts A Lot Top 40
Silhouette Top 40
Sure Cuts A Lot Top 40
Make The Cut Top 40

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,876 other followers

