Pop ups with Cricut Design Studio

January 25, 2009 at 6:04 am 15 comments

I am predominantly a Mac user, so I don’t mess with Cricut Design Studio much, but I thought I would try out the pop up card technique so those without SCAL can play along. Here were the results:

iheartcard

and here’s a screen shot (colors are reversed…the outside of the card is on the right):

screen1

You can download the .cut file here. Cartridge is Plantin Schoolbook. The finished card is A2 size so you can just use a half sheet of card stock for the outside instead of cutting one with the Cricut as I did above. For instructions on how to assemble the card, check the references on my earlier post about pop ups.

Entry filed under: Computer Crafts, Cricut, Freebies. Tags: , , , .

Idea Shopping Tip The geeky way to install vinyl

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carol  |  January 25, 2009 at 9:59 am

    Thanks for a fun cut file!! Plan to use this for my grandchildren’s valentines…wanted an ‘action’ card and with a little ‘bling’, this should be perfect!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Colleen  |  January 25, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    Thanks for such a fun file. I will have to try making one of these style cards. I have bookmarked your site and hope to see more of your talents.

    Reply
  • 3. Cindy  |  January 26, 2009 at 9:35 am

    Hi:
    I was so excited when you responded to my email requesting Valentines ideas. This is exactly what I wanted. I love pop-up cards. I immediately jumped on my Cricut and downloaded the file into DS. I hit cut, and off it went. Unfortunately everything did cut except around the letters. (I can send a picture to show you what happened?) Do I need to so something before I hit cut? I love this card and I was going to show my Cricut Club how great this machine is. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    thanks for sharing,
    Cindy Impellizzeri
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    cindyi@comcast.net

    Reply
  • 4. HappyHappyJoyJoy  |  February 3, 2009 at 6:36 am

    This is gorgeous and amazing! I am really enjoying your blog and will be back often! Thank you so much for sharing this cut file!

    Reply
  • 5. Marianne  |  February 5, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing your talents. I really appreciate it.

    Reply
  • 6. CraftyNkki  |  May 11, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Very interesting project

    Reply
  • 7. Rosie Waldt  |  June 6, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    Can you tell me where to look for the assembly of your I Love You Popups? Thank you very much for shaing.

    Reply
  • 9. dora elena velez  |  July 26, 2009 at 9:16 am

    DIVINO SU DISEÑO CON CORAZONES. FELICITACIONES

    LLEVO 3 DIAS INTENTANDO A COPIARLA A MI PROGRAMA DE CRICUT DESIGN Y NO HE PODIDO, LA VERDAD NO SE COMO COPIAR, INSTALO EL PROGRAMA DE SCAN Y NADA. POR FAVOR DECIRME COMO HAGO

    Reply
  • 10. MRSDIVA2U  |  January 7, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    These are some very cool circut card you made.I’ hope to see more of your work .

    Reply
  • 11. PJ (Jessie Adams)  |  January 28, 2010 at 11:07 am

    This looks so good!
    I love pop-ups.
    Thanks for sharing the file.

    How about doing a video on constructing one?

    Reply
  • 12. I heart U pop up for CDS « Clever Someday  |  February 1, 2010 at 10:21 am

    [...] For more details see the original post here. [...]

    Reply
  • 13. Kathy  |  March 2, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    Thanks for the cut file….Love the pop up!!!

    Reply
  • 14. Jenna  |  January 13, 2012 at 6:18 pm

    do you have the file for SCAL? love the card but don’t have cricut design studio. thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,857 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Cricut and Sure Cuts A Lot Top 40
Silhouette Top 40
Sure Cuts A Lot Top 40
Make The Cut Top 40

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,857 other followers

